The Other Side? Part 1

I met and connected with an incredible woman a couple of weeks ago.  We we spoke on several topics but one in particular was something  I’ve considered writing about for a while now.  My conversation with her inspired me to write about it here.  What are your thoughts on spirits?  Specifically good ones… Have you ever felt that someone you love, who has passed away, has guided you or spoken to you in some way?   I have had moments like these on several occasions.  There were 3 specific occasions… But I’m only going to speak on 2 of them.  Remember in my first blog post, “It’s Official,”  when I told you about Nellie Pearl and Eddie Pearl?  Well, my Grandma Nellie spoke to me in a dream the week of my wedding, and my Granddaddy Eddie guided my steps on the day that we laid him to rest. I believe this with all of my heart.  Here are the stories…

Grandma Nellie Pearl’s Master Plan.

September 2010. My wedding was a about week out and my grandma Nellie was busy making plans in heaven. They were elaborate plans… She had it all figured out.  She appeared to me in a dream and stood in directly in front of me.  She was holding something in her hands but  I couldn’t quite make out what it was.  She reached her arms out to me with with the gift in her hands and a sweet smile on her face and said “I want you to have this.”  I smiled back at her and accepted her mystery gift.  I told her thank you and she told me that she loved me and that was it.  She was gone. I woke up from my dream and I immediately realized what it was even though I didn’t know what it was. I was certain that she was providing me with my something old!  I could feel it with everything inside of me. I didn’t tell anyone about this experience until the night before my wedding.

Meanwhile,  my dad, Daniel, and his sister, Nita,  were enjoying a late night phone call with one another.  I’d like to think that this call was on the exact same night but I’m not completely sure… It may have been the day before but it was definitely the same week. For the sake of my story, we’re gonna call it the same night, lol!

11203132_899983670040728_267747661160848473_n

My Auntie Nita and My Grandma Nellie.

Fast forward to the night before my wedding. We had several family members at our house. We had just finished the rehearsal dinner.  My dad, my auntie, my mother and I stepped away into my bedroom because they wanted to talk to me about something.  They told me that they had something for me… My heart starts beating out of my chest because deep inside I already knew what was happening.  I just couldn’t believe it!!!  So I let them go on to tell me that what the had for me was to be my something old. How fitting is it that she gets her son and daughter to deliver her gift to me for her?!  My Auntie Nita pulls out a black purse with a purple ribbon detail (Purple is my favorite color, btw) on the front that belonged to my grandmother.  Inside was a picture of her holding it. This picture.

598566_3824797029785_1604269200_n

Cue the water works!!! The tears immediately started streaming down my face and I was overwhelmed with emotion. I hugged the deliverers of my package and then took a moment to myself.  I soon called them back in the room and I told the 3 of them all about the dream I had earlier that week. They were stunned!  Why, you ask? Because of this conversation between the my dad and his sister on the phone as told by my father in this video…

Nellie Pearl’s plan had come full circle, well almost…

The next day, my wedding day, I decided that I would walk down the isle with my gift of something old that held a photo of my beautiful grandmother.  I also made sure that my photographer got a shot of me holding it close towards the end of that special night.

You can’t tell me that she didn’t orchestrate all of that!!!  What makes it even more real… I had a similar experience with my grandfather on the day of his funeral. Stay tuned for part 2 where I will share that story with you.

Have you had an experience like this with a loved one who passed away? I’d love to hear about it in the comments if you don’t mind sharing! Thank you for watching and as always, be well!

Love, Nevelyn Pearl

P.S. About the cake… lol! Note to self, Neat Egg makes your cake extra heavy and it also changes the flavor! It kinda fell apart so I didn’t take a picture. I’ll try again in the near future with a different egg alternative and let you know how it turns out!

Leave a comment